“WOODn’t Ya know it?” or “New Basement Firewood Storage!”


BasementI spent a not-inconsiderable time pondering my wood storage solution, and after a full assessment of fire safety, short-term convenience, long-term convenience, initial and long-term expenditure, effort, etc etc yadda yadda, I broke down and decided on building a bare wooden partition in my furnace room, to more efficiently store the wood, once split, that I’ve bought locally. A great deal of it is green, as in cut-that-day green, and much of it was standing dead-wood, some was fallen dead-wood. The price wasn’t bad, and it was service with a smile, so I’ll do what I can. Pretty sure that, after spending almost $700.00 on wood for this winter and considering the hundred or more hours that would be invested in harvesting all the wood I’d need for NEXT winter, then stoking the fire, requiring a fire going to have hot water in the summer, it’s just a hassle. I really think I wanna go with a hot water boiler for next year. It’ll be a monthly cost, but let’s be serious, if I invested all the hours that I’d spend on the wood, working in the shop or with a full-time job, I’d actually be money-in. Wood is GREAT for people who enjoy buggering around in the woods, but seriously, it’s such a rat-race that I’d rather avoid. Thanks. In the meantime, I’ve built a partition system that can be broken down later, in a pinch, and could even stay there if we eventually get a high efficiency wood stove for emergencies… something upstairs near the kitchen for those inevitable Newfoundland winter power failures…

IMG_1555So her’s the wood from the garage, the stuff that’s stacked is the better part of a “load” (approximate 3/4 of a cord, or about 2.7 cubic meters), and three loads are in the pile behind it. I’ve got another two in the house already, for those of you who aren’t following along, that’s six. 😛 Three more are inbound next week once I get my garage cleared away and cleaned… to come along and crap it up again. Thinking that the four loads you see here will fill, or nearly fill, the furnace room in the house… so while that’s drying, and we’re eating into that over the winter, the 3 newest loads will be split and drying in the back room of the shed, also feeding the wood furnace there. I expect that it will whither away pretty quickly, so what wood we harvest this winter will also feed my woodstove in the shed, I figure. It will also fill the wood shed behind the shop. Electric would be SO Much easier! Better still when the shop is renovated and insulated/sealed up. But all good things in time.

IMG_1544So the wood I ordered came today, Randell’s store is kind enough to not charge me for delivery, since I’m less than a kilometer away and live across the road from Jim’s son, Darren. At the end of his shift, he loads his truck, pulls into my driveway, dumps the goods, and pulls across the street into his. It all works out well. They take care of me, and I keep coming back. 😀 I love small towns.

I ended up deviating from my plan, a little bit, and nailed the 93″ stud boards directly to the floor joists of the kitchen, above the furnace room. They rest directly on the concrete, but there’s no sign of there ever being water damage down there, so it’s all good. I didn’t want to mess with cutting each one 1.5″ shorter, and then having to toe-nail each board into place… but the boards seen here gave me MUCH more “bite” to the nails, and I was sure to nail them in snug to the floor, IMG_1552so they aren’t moving. They are approximately 16″ (~406.4mm) apart, and fixed directly into the ceiling. There is a 30″ (~750mm) space where the bend in the base is, to allow easy access to the wood behind. This pic to the left is before I re-sorted the wood.

The picture to the right is the wood stacked away, most of the biggest, heaviest junks are stacked up there on the side, with that whole lift finished. The mixed wood against the wall beneath the window (sorry for IMG_1553the contrast) gives enough space for me to reach up and grab the wood that loads in from the window, and still is effective use of storage.

This next image, to the left, is the last of the wood that remained in the basement furnace room. It’s AMAZING how much more wood I can fit in there now, that it’s all organized.

10736028_745471925532253_1120191659_nNow, though, from what you see there with half a tier under the window and another half by the wall on the 2nd… This is what it looks like in mid-october, after 3 more pick-up loads of wood. We’re hoping to get three more loads tucked in there… ought to get us through til January or February.


Leave a Reply

