“Two-Story Chain Swing” or “A Stoop With a View”



So recently my beautiful wife, Sarah, shared a pinterest link; seen here. It’s a lovely contraption, I get the gist of what it’s trying to accomplish and after an exhausting period of Q&A, I managed to decrypt why she liked it. but in lieu of engineering plans, drawings, sketches, dimensions, cross-sections, It’s difficult for me to wrap my head around the entire concept. So you know hat I did? I made my own. To hell with guessing when you can know. To hell with knowing when you can do. Then, what do I need for doing? Drawings, and I got those in spades.

Seen to the right is a rendering that I created to appease my darling wife… and my swollen ego; Canopy Deck 4but mostly my wife. Yeah. So I drew this thing based upon the building code compliance that I remember studying while at College of the North Atlantic, Corner Brook Campus, Civil Engineering Technology program. This will fit under the NBC (National Building Code) for decks and built-up residential public spaces and built to accommodate the Newfoundland snow load regulations of 3.5 KPA. Bored yet? Who am I kidding, of COURSE you’re not! Oh, nevermind me. I’ll go on…

The vertical members are 4″x4″ (100mm x 100mm) columns, 10′ (~3m) tall, Canopy Deck 3while ALL the green lumber is 2×6 (~50mm x 150mm) that’s 10′ (~3m) long for the larger cube and the suspended bed/bench is 8′ (~2.5m) long by 4′ (~1.25m). The brown-coloured decking is all 5/4″ x 6″ (~37.5mm x 150mm). ALL wood in this model is pressure-treated and treated prior to installation. The wastage will be under 5%, as was part of the design using whole 10′ (~3m) or whole 8′ (~2.5m) boards where possible, at most removing 3″ (~75mm) of length when building boxes. These under-side images help indicate the spacing, which happens to be 16″ (~400mm) on centers, and where shorter joist spacing is necessary the centre is reduced to accommodate. Canopy Deck 2Four long Eye-Hook anchor bolts are driven into the floating bench/bed and four longer bolts are driven into the columbs supporting it. Heavy chain, each capable of supporting a load of 200# (90kg) will be used to distribute the load. The whole system is stationary, but the chains can be removed for safe storage of the mobile swing during winter months.

The following is the materials-list for this project, including a very rough estimate of price; highly susceptible to change as per regional costs:

  • 04 – 4″ x 4″ x 10′
  • 30 – 2″ x 6″ x 10′
  • 20 – 1″ x 6″ x 10′
  • 02 – 2″ x 4″ x 10′
  • 10 – 2″ x 6″ x 8′
  • 08 – 1″ x 6″ x 8′
  • 04 – 8″ Welded Eye-hook, galvanized, with lock nut
  • 04 – 6″ Welded Eye-hook, galvanized, with lock nut
  • 24′ of heavy chain, combined eight tolerance of 800-1000#
  • 06 – 1″ Diameter Dowels, 4′ long
  • 04 – Concrete Deck Feet, to accommodate 4″ x 4″ Posts

It is my reasoning that this project will consume approximately $750.00 CAD (~688.96 USD or 531.87 EURO as of the current exchange rate) without much effort, even with the wastage (sawdust AND cut-offs) being insufficient to fill a 5 gallon (~20L) bucket. The location of this project will be in the far back corner of the property, as close to the water’s edge as possible. The view from the top-deck ought to be spectacular. I am completely prepared to buy galvanized steel bolts, perhaps 8 of them, about 2′ long. I would hammer them into the ground on two sides of each column, and use heavy steel braces to attach them to the legs. In the event of a heavy wind load, these bolts and brackets will be a little extra protection to keep the whole construction from toppling over; though I don’t se that being a terribly likely scenario, once it’s also covered in snow.

I’ll do my best to remember to update this post with a good image and outline of where the building could potentially go, but suffice to say, it’s not connected to anything and would be a free-sanding cube nearly 10′ (~3m) on a side.

IMG_1449Map 1EDIT: You’re all familiar with my occasional forecast openings for my blog posts, and I try to capture various angles of the south-facing sky. This is the water of Canada Bay, just north of Englee. My property is just at the very northern tip of the inlet. Chimney Bay is the longer inlet, that extends from the Atlantic Ocean to the Roddickton half of “Roddickton-Bide Arm” and the narrower, shorter inlet on the right is Canada Bay; the 10km stretch of water that extends from Englee to Bide Arm. The harbour begins, insofar as the mountain brook  meets IMG_1460sea IMG_1461level, only a few yards (~meters) from my property, just behind that Shed as seen to the right in the photos of my back yard. The trees there are inside the boundary of a protected wetland preserve, and we regularly see birds and other wildlife in that area in the early mornings. Seldom a day goes by that I don’t hear their sweet chirping. The ideal place to put the freestanding garden swing would be way back by that tiny black spruce tree, near the wood shed portion of my garage. IMG_1462It’s on an elevated area just a few paces from the babbling brook and will give an unobstructed view of the harbour as seen from ground-level that far down

It’s Monday, 9:55am on 8th September, the sun is shining, it’s a cool 12C (53.6F) in the shade, but a nice warm breeze promises a pleasant day. I just heard a chipmunk chittering away, and THIS is the view from the base of our future swing location. The brown section was tall grass, almost half my height, full of weeds and brambles. It took 2 hours to mow the thing, and it’s not quite yet recovered from the lack of sunlight to the sod. It’ll recover, and when it does, that whole area will be made into a flower bed and rock garden.

 

 

Leave a Reply

